The members of Cornwall Council’s new Cabinet and the allocation of the individual portfolios has been announced.

The membership of the Cabinet, which reflects the alliance between the Liberal Democrat and Independent Groups to form the new administration, comprises five Liberal Democrats and five Independents.

The five Liberal Democrat councillors nominated to the Cabinet and their portfolio areas are:

  • Adam Paynter: (Launceston North and North Petherwin) – Leader
  • Rob Rotchell: (Camelford) – Adults
  • Geoff Brown: (Newquay Central) – Transport
  • Edwina Hannaford: (Looe West, Lansallos and Lanteglos) – Neighbourhoods
  • Sue James: (St Just in Penwith) – Environment and Public Protection


The five Independent councillors nominated to the Cabinet and their portfolio areas are :

  • Julian German: (Roseland) – Deputy Leader and Resources
  • Andrew Mitchell: (St Ives West) – Homes
  • Mike Eathorne Gibbons: (Ladock, St Clement and St Erme) – Customers
  • Bob Egerton: (Probus, Tregony and Grampound) – Planning and Economy
  • Sally Hawken: (Liskeard East) – Children and Wellbeing


Portfolio Holder Responsibilities

Leader – Adam Paynter
Leadership of the Council; Strategy; Devolution from London to Cornwall; Brexit; Safeguarding; Chair of Health and Wellbeing Board; Communications and Reputation; Resident engagement

Deputy Leader and Resources – Julian German
Medium Term Financial Strategy; Resources; Business Rates; Pensions; Fees and Charges; equalities and diversity; Human Resources and Organisational Development; shared services with other councils

Customers – Mike Eathorne Gibbons
Customer services; Partnerships (third sector, public and private); Governance and Assurance; Information Technology and Digital Services; Civic functions; Property and Asset Management; Corporate procurement; Risk Management, Insurance; Audit; Leisure, Cornwall Sports Partnership

Children and Wellbeing – Sally Hawken
Children’s social care; children’s safeguarding; early intervention services for vulnerable children; early years, Education; Special Educational Needs; child poverty; youth offending, youth services; Public Health

Adults – Rob Rotchell
Health and Social Care integration; social care services for adults; prevention and wellbeing services; vulnerable adults safeguarding

Neighbourhoods – Edwina Hannaford
Registrars; Library services; Events and Licensing; Community Networks and Localism; Devolution to Town and Parish Councils and community groups; Gypsy and Travellers

Environment and Public Protection – Sue James
Waste; Street cleaning; waterways, beaches and flood resilience; country parks, parks and open spaces; cemeteries and crematoria; Historic Environment; Allotments and County Farms; Maritime Services; Fire and Rescue services, Community safety; Emergency planning; Public Protection and Enforcement services (environmental health, trading standards etc), Local Nature Partnership (LNP) Board Member

Planning and Economy – Bob Egerton
Cornwall Local Plan and planning guidance; Neighbourhood Plans; Development Control Service and Planning enforcement; Land registry and street naming; Regeneration; Economic Growth and Development including cultural strategy; Skills Agenda and relationships with Universities; Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) Board Member

Homes – Andrew Mitchell
Housing; social housing; homelessness; Welfare Reform

Transport – Geoff Brown
Local Transport Strategy; roads and pavements; street lighting; public transport; Tamar Bridge and Torpoint Ferry; Parking Strategy; Cornwall Airport Newquay

You can read more about the councillors and their portfolio areas here.